Fat Quarter Shop Cubes Quilt Along

Today is the launch of the latest Fat Quarter Shop quilt along, this time it features their free Cubes Quilt pattern and I was lucky enough to be asked to make a version of it.

Processed with MOLDIV

I adore the Cubes quilt pattern because it features my favourite quilty things – big blocks, very little cutting and doesn’t leave me with lots of fabric leftover. It uses a fat quarter bundle (18 fat quarters in total) and a few yards of background fabric, so it’s perfect for any of those bundles you have been hoarding for years.  Especially as the size of the blocks means you can really showcase your favourite prints.

Processed with MOLDIV

I used Welsummer the latest collection by Kim Kight for Cotton and Steel which features tiny chickens and has a vintage kitchen print feel to it.  And I paired it with Kona fabric in Snow so I could frame the gorgeous Cubes blocks.

Processed with MOLDIV

The quilt comes together so quickly (easily made in a day) that I spent a few evenings hand quilting it in 12wt Aurifil thread in Black (number 2692).

welsummerstitches

If you would like to join along with the Fat Quarter Shop quilt along then make sure you pop over to their blog to get all the details.  And don’t forget to look at all the different versions of the quilt, its always a great way to see the impact print and colour has  on a quilt pattern.

Processed with MOLDIV

Happy sewing

Ange