Loyal Heights Project Tour

Today is my stop on the Loyal Heights Project Tour.  Loyal Heights is the gorgeous collection by  Jera Brandwig from the Quilting in the Rain blog.  Jera, is a quilter, author, fabric designer and a mum of two so I am very excited and inspired to work with her.

This is Jera’s fourth collection with Lecien and I always appreciate the opportunity to create with her delicate designs.  The collection features Jera’s sweet floral, fauna and cottage illustrations in a range of soft colours with gold accents!  The designs are perfect for so many projects, you can see the full collection here

For my projects I chose to make two pouches but both have a very different look to them.

For my first project I used a pattern from the Zakka Handmades book by Amy Morinaka. I used the stunning blues and reds from the collection to make a bright little pouch -perfect for a little girl to store all her favourite treasures in.

30086F15-BF83-4BF0-8A42-BCD818C25461

For my second project I used the softer colours in 1 1/2 inch 6 sided diamond shapes (from Tales of Cloth) to make a super sized zipper pouch.  I hand stitched the diamonds together (trying to fussy cut as many cute designs as possible).

Processed with MOLDIV

I then hand quilted the blocks to quilt batting and added a zipper.  The super size of the pouch makes it perfect for storing larger projects or even a book or laptop bag.

Processed with MOLDIV

I didn’t use a pattern but if you are new to sewing zipper pouches Jera has a brilliant tutorial on her blog here.

Processed with MOLDIV

Thanks for taking to time to stop by my blog, next on the stop is Faith from the Sarana Avenue blog and I can’t wait to see how Jera’s collection has inspired her.

And if you want to be inspired by more makers here is the full list of blogs participating

project tour lineup-05

Happy sewing

Ange

One thought on “Loyal Heights Project Tour

Leave a comment